Youtube Scrobbling for Last.fm

I listen to music a lot. My iPod gets scrobbled about once a week, and Banshee, Rhythmbox and even my iTunes setup on my Windows 7 partition is set up to scrobble my plays back to last.fm. I’ve found it’s a really handy site for (sometimes obsessively) keeping track of my plays and favourites between different media players. Then while checking out some new songs on YouTube, it dawned on me that I wasn’t counting those plays.
After a bit of googling, I’ve came up with a solution for Firefox (& it’ll work for Google Chrome/Opera too!)

  1. Open up your add-ons page (In Firefox its “Tools->Add-ons” or “Shift+Ctrl+A”)
  2. Search for an extension called “Greasemonkey” and install it.
  3. Go to this userscript.org script for YouScrobble and click install.
  4. When the GreaseMonkey script install page asks, click install again.

That’s your browser set up to let you scrobble from YouTube! A new “Scrobble” option will appear to the right of the search bar when watching a video, allowing you to scrobble any video you want to your Last.fm profile! Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

